Welcome to the Bishopton Primary School website. Bishopton Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff, governors, parents and volunteers to share this commitment.

Bishopton Primary School

‘Aim High, Prepare to Achieve’

EYFS curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The early years curriculum is in place to support learning from birth to the end of the Reception year in school. It has been designed to ensure that schools, nurseries and childminders offer a broad set of experiences to children in their care.

The emphasis is on promoting communication and language, personal, social and emotional development and physical skills for the youngest children. As children reach their third year of life, there is additional emphasis placed on teaching specific skills to enhance children’s love of books and reading, writing for a purpose, mathematical and technical skills, creative and imaginative opportunities and knowledge of the natural and man-made world. 


The 7 areas of learning are underpinned by 'characteristics of effective learning'. These reflect the importance of understanding the individual ways in which children take in new skills and ideas, how some like lots of action and practical experiences while others are more motivated by theoretical and contemplative ways of learning.


Seven areas of learning ~

  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.
  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the world.
  • Expressive arts and design.


Characteristics of effective learning ~

Playing and exploring

Active learning

Creating and thinking critically